By Hammer and Hand, wrap-up

I had a blast and learned a lot.  The class had a lot of great guys and we all got along and tried to help each other out.  There are still a few things I need to do on my school box before I can put finish on it: complete the bottom molding, trim the top to size, size and complete the top molding, and figure out the hinges.  I may or may not try to install a lock as well.

Looking back on the class, the sawing work and dovetail layout were the two things that vastly improved my own dovetails.  I still have a ways to go, but more practice should help a lot with that. Chris is a fun teacher, but he also takes the time to help out with your own individual woodworking problems.  Certainly if you get a chance to take a class from him, I’d encourage it.

Here are photos of all my other classmates working away.

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Al (Thomas)

     /  August 14, 2011

    Hey Joe – the only one we are missing is you!

    Reply
  2. Nice job on documenting the class! I’ve just perused the postings, but I’ll go through in more detail and watch the videos. It’s always worth watching a craftsman at work.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

