CVSW Open House

The Connecticut Valley School of Woodworking had their annual open house today, and with the sun shining I decided to ride the Harley up there, going the twisty back-road way.  Out back they have a vendors and demonstrators section, with lots of old tools.  Gordon from the Hammer and Hand class was there selling planes, saws, drill bits and assorted hand tools.  It sounded like he sold a fair number of tools.  He also let me know that I only missed about an hour of bidding at the Spicer auction.  Those last lots were sort of grab bags (actually boxes) of mixed tools, and the auctioneer ended up bundling 2-3 of them together and really whipped through them.

Inside, as in years past, there were students’ work displayed.  I didn’t have anything to show this year as my guitar teacher is not teaching this fall, so my guitars really wouldn’t be much of an advert.  I suppose I could have had them displayed, but I decided against it.  Maybe next year for some of my furniture work.

A few close-ups of some of the work.  Last year they had the student’s name and class next to the piece, but not this year.  A gorgeous Chippendale-style chair.

A tilt-top table, with some exceptional veneer work.  I love the little banding around the edge, which is a little hard to see in this photo.

One of the future classes is making this Arts & Crafts table lamp, including the stained glass.  I believe these items (the A&C in the photo) are made by Mike Pekovich, from FWW.

A nice craftsman/Krenov style cabinet, with quarter-sawn white oak through out.  Well, I can’t be sure about the small drawers as I didn’t open them up.

A very classy Federal-style side table, made with mahogany and perhaps sapele drawer fronts (maybe veneered, I didn’t open it).  I think I need to learn how to do spindle turning so I can make some nice legs like this.

A very nice walnut spice box, line and berry inlay.

The CT Historical Society brought some very nice antique furniture pieces and tools.  I only got a couple pics of this candle stand.  Again, I like the turned leg.

A little fill-flash looking underneath.  Looking at the photo, I should gotten a few pictures of that windsor chair behind it too.

Lie-Nielsen was there with demo models of what seemed like all their tools.

The lathes being demo’ed as well, including a pair of cool little late-1800s Millers Falls treadle lathe, and one with a fret saw attachment (not in the picture).  I wonder if Shop Smith got their idea of multi-tools from this?

I also had a chance to talk molding planes with Matt Bickford for quite a while.  He makes some incredible planes, and after our discussions, I think I’ll try my hand at making a pair of hollow and rounds.  I do have the Larry Williams DVD, so I’ll just have to source some plane floats.

All-in-all an enjoyable way to spend a sunny afternoon.

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Al (Thomas)

     /  September 10, 2011

    Joe – good to see you today at the CVSW open house. I was hoping to see a completed school box shown with the display of student work. Be well and keep making things!
    Al

    Reply
  2. It was great meeting you with Al yesterday. What a great time we all had celebrating furniture making.

    Reply
  3. It was nice seeing you again Al, I figured you or Gordon would have completed boxes there. I haven’t even gotten the hardware yet (!). I decided I need to complete some of my mostly finished projects, so have a cabinet base I am working on right now.

    Nice meeting you too Peter, hopefully we’ll end up in a class or two along our woodworking journeys.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

