Woodworking Resolutions, 2012

It’s 2012 and I’m sure most people have their New Year’s resolutions.  I’d like to put my woodworking ones down on ‘paper’ so that I can look back and see if I kept on track and accomplished some of my goals.  But first I would be remiss if I didn’t mention that my work schedule has changed recently and so I have seen precious little time in the work shop.  To get a release out, I’ve been working closer to the hours of the home office, which is in California.  So a late start and a late finish.  I tended to do work in the evenings after work.

-build a Nicolson-style English bench.  My bench predicament has become untenable and really cuts down on the fun factor as I find some new fangled way to do something that ought to be fairly simple.

-build a treadle or spring pole lathe.  I am leaning towards a treadle lathe.  This might be a bit much for me this year, we’ll see.

-build a bathroom cabinet for my house.  I’ll have to research this one as I’d like to build something that might be somewhat ‘period correct’.  My house was built in 1850 and is a folk Greek Revival.  ‘Folk’ in that it has the forward facing gable, pediment, and low-pitched roof, but any other typical period embellishments–columns, pilasters, statues of Athena (kidding)–are not present, or were removed.  Well except for some remnant pilasters on either side of the door.  Also I decided to paint it with more ‘tropical’ colors, or at least closer to Victorian.  The front-door overhang seems to be Victorian as well, with the acorns and scroll work.  I’ll probably paint the cabinet white, but maybe add some window lights and possibly try to find a local glass blower to make the old style blown glass windows.  “I’ll take a plate glass, no I want leaded glass.  No, I want blown glass with the pontil mark…”.  You’ll get some OSB and like it!

-build at least one re-creation of a piece of fine furniture, maybe the joined stool when that book comes out.

-enter the TDPRI telecaster build contest again, though this time I’m thinking I’ll do as much hand-work as possible.  I might need to sneak in some bandsaw time, but everything else can be done with my assortment of hand tools.  Well and my soldering iron.

-remove all plastic-esque handles from my chisels and replace them with some nice, turned handles.  Or perhaps some octagonal handles so they don’t roll off the bench.  I’d consider using some of my red oak stash but those would probably turn into pretzel handles.  Maybe some ash from the bench build.

-turn some natural edged bowls.  My first attempt already started cracking.  It was looking pretty cool though.  Turned red oak isn’t as hideous as people think.

-improve my spindle turning, which I’ve been working on since my class.

-complete my Christmas gifts before Christmas this year (!).  And don’t glue the pen blank to the mandrel.

-tune up my wood bench planes so they work.  Some will need some mouth tightening, some need something else, I’m not sure what.  Glad I don’t have to do this for a living, I’d be starving.

-organize my shop (completing a few projects would help, like the tool chest)

-take a class or two from a world renowned teacher.  Or that Schwarz fellow.

-survive the Mayan apocalypse.  Maybe go down Dec 20th and kick Kulkulkan in the kulkulknutz.

What are your woodworking resolutions?

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Al (Thomas)

     /  January 4, 2012

    You are going to be very busy indeed joecrafted! So I guess my resolution will be to help you keep track of your progress on your many resolutions.
    Well actually I’m going to finish my Arts and Craft lamp, make a duplicate one, build a wall tool cabinet, clean-up and organize my shop, build something as yet undetermined… not necessarily in that order. And visit a friend who is in the 9-month intensive program at the Center for Craftsmanship in Rockport, ME. The rub is I travel around the country about half the time… Al

    Reply
  2. Sounds like a plan Al. Travel would make getting projects done rather difficult. I’ve thought of going up to Rockport to see the school. I’ll probably do another week-long class this summer, someplace. Hope to see your lamp, I guess that was the A&C lamp class with the leaded glass at CVSW?

    I’ve probably planned more than I can tackle, but we’ll see.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

