Woodwright’s School, Spring Pole Lathe, Class photos

Here are some photos of my classmates working away in the Woodwright’s school.  Ed Lebetkin, who runs the tool shop upstairs, commented that he wondered if Roy did any instruction or not in this class, as we always seemed to be busy bees going about our work w/o a lot of direct involvement from Roy.  While not true (Roy showed us a lot), it is true that from what I could tell, all of us were fairly experienced woodworkers who didn’t need a lot of intense direction.  Some were faster than others, but overall everyone finished their lathe, all within an hour or two of each other over the course of a week’s work.  Fun group and I know I’ll keep in touch with a few of them in the future and hope to run into them all at some point at woodworking events or classes.  Some of us might show up in the local county travel video (they came through one afternoon while we were working away).

At the end of the day on Thursday, with our lathes looking pretty lathe-like, we decided to get some glamor shots and put them all up on our workbenches.

Left to right, Cameron, a timber framer from Canada, Terry, Brandon (behind the upright), Dan, Gerald from Texas, and Chuck also originally from Texas but now making Windsor Chairs in West Virginia.  I might take a chair class with Chuck next summer, which would be fun.  We stayed at the same B&B so got to chat quite a bit over breakfast, along with another classmate Larry.

J.T. the youngest member of the class.  He and his wife were moving west after this class to go to grad school, J.T. in architecture if I recall correctly.  He had also taken the Woodcraft Week earlier in the summer, and had the adze scar to prove it (yikes). We were all invited out to Roy’s house after Thursday’s class and during the tour, JT found the adze that bit him.

Terry, working on the bench in front of me.

Larry behind me, working on the tool rest I believe.  I also got to know Larry pretty well since he also stayed in the same B&B.

Here Gerald is using the moving filister to cut the rabbet in the tool rest.

I usually try to get photos of everyone, and I think I did for this class, some show up in previous installments of the class.  From the bench layout,  front to back, right to left when looking out towards the street, Cameron, Terry, Joe (me), Larry, Brandon.  Then Curtis, Chuck, JT, Gerald, and Dan. Dan had the catbird seat for a quick run upstairs to the tool shop.  In the photo below though, left to right, JT, Chuck, Curtis, Roy, Dan, and a visitor to the shop.

I had a great time in Pittsboro, and despite it being a small town, there are some good restaurants with nice people everywhere.  I’m glad I stayed in the B&B near the school, but JT and his wife stayed at the one a little further away (2 extra ‘blocks’) and said it was nice, and Cameron and his wife and son stayed at one on the way out to Siler City, which Roy hadn’t heard about yet.  Cam said the hostess literally stuffed them with food every morning.  I know I’ll take another class here, maybe the Woodcraft Week which is held out at Roy’s property.  Other than the bar behind Roy’s school though, I didn’t find any live music that didn’t require driving.  I wanted banjos (darn it)!

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

