Beginning Spoon Carving

Starting on a new woodworking project, carving a spoon from some scrap in the workshop. I am not entirely sure what the wood is, I think soft maple. I started off by outlining the spoon shape, cutting out the blank and then using my single-sided hatchet to waste away much of the handle area. I used stop cuts with a backsaw to define the major handle-bowl transition area. Then broke out the drawknife to begin refining the handle and start roughing in the bowl.

I’m also using this project for a photo project, so should have some more high quality black-n-white photos to add. These are just some snaps with my iPhone.

Setting the studio camera

Setting the studio camera

Progress

Progress

And some I took with a speed light and umbrella.

spoon-carving-4902

spoon-carving-4910

spoon-carving-4911

Leave a comment

Leave a comment